The Business & Technology Network
Helping Business Interpret and Use Technology
S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
 
 
 
 
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 

How to delete your Venmo account and get a copy of your transaction history beforehand

DATE POSTED:November 6, 2019

Venmo

  • To delete a Venmo account, you'll need a desktop computer or a device with access to a browser, since the company doesn't allow you to delete your account from the app. 
  • Before deleting your Venmo account, make sure to download a copy of your transaction history for your own personal records, and transfer your Venmo balance to your bank account. 
  • Visit Business Insider's homepage for more stories.

Venmo doesn't allow its users to delete an account through its app, but you can do so via a desktop computer, or through your preferred mobile browser. 

Be sure to download a copy of your transaction history before you delete your account, since it'll be erased along with the rest of your data. And if you have any money in your Venmo wallet, transfer it to your bank account. 

Here's how to delete a Venmo account

1. Launch your preferred browser and go to https://venmo.com

2. Sign in using your email, phone number, or username and password. If you've enabled two-factor identification, enter the pin sent to your phone number or email address. 

3. Once you've signed in, select "Settings" from the menu at the top-right hand corner. 

Delete1

4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select "Close My Venmo Account." If you haven't already, be sure to transfer your Venmo balance to your bank account by going to "Manage Balance," and then "Transfer to Bank."

Delete2

5. Here you can download your transaction history by selecting "Download CSV." Once you've done that, select "Next" under "Closing your Venmo account." 

Delete3

6. In the pop-up, make sure you've downloaded your transactions and then select "Next." 

7. A final page will load to make sure you want to close your account. If so, select "Close Account." Venmo will then send you a confirmation email, letting you know your account is deleted. 

Delete4

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

SEE ALSO: The best smartwatches you can buy

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: Most maps of Louisiana aren't entirely right. Here's what the state really looks like.